Rapidly Developing Dreams

I was writing the next lesson in an email course we offer on Narrative First–one about best practices in developing the Main Character of a story and their role within the Overall Story, and it occurred to me–it would be really awesome if Subtext, our story outliner app, did this for you automatically.

So, I quickly opened up VSCode, made the changes in the controller, tested it, committed the code, and pushed it–all within the span of about 10 minutes.

And now everyone across the world benefits from this insight into developing a story.

Now, when you build a story in Subtext it automatically adds the Main Character Player to both the Main Character Throughline and the Overall Story Throughline. If you were James Cameron in 1985, it might look something like this:

I can’t tell you how much I love being able to do this. Instead of having to wait around months or years for the next version of a software application I use to come out, I can just do it myself and get it done while everything is still fresh in my mind.

And then writers across the world can start using it moments after I roll the changes out.

What an incredible life.

James R. Hull @jhull